Post-marathon Syndrome

Despite having done the marathon the day before, I knew that Monday was going to be tiring and involve lots of walking, a bit of heavy lifting and a fair few stairs too!

After checking out of the hostel I took the Tube over to JustGiving’s headquarters. I had been invited to pop along and say hi by Heather at the expo on the Saturday, and after a slow negotiation of a couple of Tube stations and a short walk there I was greeted by Sophie (who I’ve been talking to on Twitter) and introduced to Kai and Jon (who I’ve also been talking to on Twitter). It seems I’m something of a Twitter celebrity at JustGiving, possibly something to do with the rhino hat antics! Heather soon arrived and gave me a quick guided tour of the office (prompting one staff member to say this!).

I was asked if I’d like to do a post-marathon interview to which I of course agreed – and it can now be found not only here but here. Apparently there is video of me too and I had some photos taken at the offices, but lets hope neither of those ever see the light of day! ;)

EDIT: Pics of me and Heather from JustGiving:

Me at the JustGiving offices showing off my marathon medal - check out those undereye shadows!

Me at the JustGiving offices showing off my marathon medal - check out those undereye shadows!

Showing off my JustGiving wristband, worn proudly through the whole marathon

Showing off my JustGiving wristband, worn proudly through the whole marathon

Me and the lovely Heather at the JG offices

Me and the lovely Heather at the JG offices

After distracting the JG staffers for a couple of hours they had important meetings to get on with so I went to my second ‘appointment’ of the day – picking up one of the rhino suits from Save The Rhino. Luckily there was one that wasn’t too sweaty, so, weighed down by my backpack, London Marathon kitbag, rhino head and rhino body, I set out on the Tube journey back to Paddington. I had a couple of scary moments on the escalators but most of the journey passed without incident. I’m not sure now how I managed it, I was hurting all over! Once I was back on the train home I was able to relax a little and prop the rhino suit up on a seat, which got some strange looks. It’s for a bucket collection I’m doing in my hometown on Saturday, to get a little more interest after the disastrous attempt at a bucket collection in Oxford (all day for £43.56). I may be doing some other stuff with it too, check back soon! ;)

So, to the title of this post. Once I’d arrived home, put my stuff away, had half my race goodies nicked by my brother, the reality that it was all over sunk in. I have the full on post-marathon blues. The thing I’ve been aiming for for the last four or five months has now passed, no-one wants to listen to me talk about the marathon any more, life seems dull and boring in comparison to the amazing weekend I’ve just had. I need something new to aim for but don’t know what, and it would probably be foolish to go signing up for anything now whilst my head’s still sorting itself out.

I do have to raise £2,500 by the end of May though, so that should keep me busy!

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Post-marathon Syndrome”

  1. Becca Says:

    I’ve just managed to put everything away and desperately trying not to sign up to things to cheer myself up! Like we said, we need to re-evaluate things in a gentler way, so…have you been missing out on any cream cakes recently? Fancy a cream cake challenge?!

  2. beckisavestherhinos Says:

    A cream cake challenge sounds good! Or how about a tea-drinking challenge for you? ;)

  3. beckisavestherhinos Says:

    A cream cake challenge sounds good – but I think you’d be better suited to a tea-drinking challenge! :)

  4. Carwyn Fowler Says:

    Thank goodness – someone else with post-marathon blues! Nice one.

  5. A review (and some new photos) « Becki Saves the Rhinos Says:

    [...] check out some of my previous posts for some newly added pics…. Post Marathon Syndrome London Marathon Part 2 London Marathon Part [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

