Thoughts on my rhino costume

I’ve been studying the ‘proper’ costumes used by Save The Rhino International and decided to do a couple of things differently:

1. I’d like to be able to see around, so my costume won’t cover my head the way the StR ones do
2. My costume will include my legs and probably my feet, so I’m planning on nicking some of my brother’s old shinpads to modify šŸ˜‰
3. My rhino ‘head’ will have a happier expression than the official ones!

At the moment I’m trying to get hold of some American Football shoulder pads to make the top of the body of my costume, as I figure they should be quite easy to run in, relatively speaking, they’re designed to be used in a sport after all…

I’m also trying to work out how I can do the main body of the costume without ending up with the dreaded chafeing šŸ˜®

Any ideas greatly appreciated!

More pics of the official costumes here, here, here, ooh another one here including legs and last one here.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Thoughts on my rhino costume”

  1. Further thoughts on my costume - with pictures! « Becki Saves the Rhinos Says:

    […] normally (don’t laugh!) I’m not sure this is a good idea. Having looked again at the original rhino costumes, I like the idea of the rhino head being in front of me, and not having my head covered. They have […]

Leave a Reply

