Further thoughts on my costume – with pictures!

Now I’ve got various things out of the way (Christmas, study, making things), my attention has turned once again to the contruction of my rhino costume.

I was considering having a rhino head ‘over’ my own head, but as I get quite a hot head normally (don’t laugh!) I’m not sure this is a good idea. Having looked again at the original rhino costumes, I like the idea of the rhino head being in front of me, and not having my head covered. They have frames that the head sits on so maybe I could construct something like that?

I’m having trouble deciding what to cover the shoulder pads with to achieve the desired effect. Here’s me in the shoulder pads, and a rough idea of what I’m aiming for colour- and texture-wise.

Left - before, right - after, in theory, with the addition of a rhino head

Left - before, right - after, in theory, with the addition of a rhino head

(please excuse the lack of mascara and the bad-hair-day-hiding headscarf!)

I thought papier-mache but it might end up too heavy, then someone suggested fibreglass but I’m not sure I have the equipment or expertise to deal with it. The whole thing needs to be waterproof and ideally not too heavy (I’m not a fast runner at the best of times!). Any suggestions are very much appreciated 🙂

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

