Visit to Save The Rhino HQ

I went to the Save The Rhino HQ today.

Save The Rhino Offices

Having made my way across a very icy (but thankfully sunny) London, I arrived at Save The Rhino’s offices to meet the very helpful Laurence and the rest of the team and try on one of the famous rhino costumes. The offices have so many different rhino pictures and sculptures that I lost count! There are rhinos literally everywhere, as you might expect.

I really wanted to see one of the original famous Save The Rhino costumes, to help me decide what I’m going to do for my home-made costume. It was interesting to see the costumes up close. Here I am with a rhino head (which will be the hardest bit of my costume I think):

Me and the rhino head (complete with glittery lipstick!)

Me and the rhino head (complete with glittery lipstick!)

Here’s me inside the rhino suit!

Me in the rhino costume complete with tutu

Me in the rhino costume complete with tutu

I got to wear the rhino suit that had a tutu added! It was very dark and enclosed in there, I think I was peering out in that picture. I can imagine it would get very sweaty! The skin is actually made of a kind of foam material which is useful to know, although I was told it has a tendency to soak up water (ie rain) very quickly making the costume even heavier! I will definitely be trying to make my costume as waterproof as possible as the last time I did the marathon it rained torrentially. The main body of the suit is held on with straps like you’d find on a rucksack. I was interested in the legs as well, I’d like to do something similar, which I think would be relatively straightforward.

Once back out of the suit we headed back into the office where I got to see one of these adorable cuddly toys in real life (I’m going to have to buy one!). I got the team gathered round the table for a group shot along with a rhino head:

The Save The Rhino team surrounded by rhino paraphenalia in their office

The Save The Rhino team surrounded by rhino paraphenalia in their office


The whole team were very lovely and friendly and welcoming. They were all impressed by the fact I’m making my own costume and said they couldn’t wait to see it – no pressure there then! I definitely have lots more ideas on what to do on my outfit. A very worthwhile trip indeed!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Visit to Save The Rhino HQ”

  1. Latest on the rhino costume « Becki Saves the Rhinos Says:

    […] over the front of the cycling helmet. I’m thinking of adding some ‘legs’ like the official costumes to hang off the shoulder pads, that way I can decide if I want my arms in them or not ie. when not […]

Leave a Reply

