4 weeks to go and an even longer longest run

The countdown begins! This time in 4 weeks I will hopefully have completed the marathon, got my medal, and be relaxing with the Save The Rhino gang! Positive visualisation can only be a good thing!

After last week’s epic blog post about my 15.5 mile run, I’m afraid there wasn’t much to report today. It wasn’t one of the most enjoyable runs I’ve ever done, as for the most part I was bored out of my mind! Where last week I was floating on a cloud of Zen-like calm and post-Silverstone happiness, this week was just plain dull, and I felt every step of it.

I set out intending to do 18.2 miles but I’m afraid I was losing the will to live at the end and did 17 miles instead. I’m hoping to do that 18.2 next week instead – the last long run before I start tapering. My last couple of runs before the London Marathon are likely to be about 11.5 and 6 miles each – hardly short runs!

I got by on Jelly Beans and painkillers, much like last week, although I think I left it a little late to take the painkillers because the start of the run definitely hurt more this time. The first two miles or so of every run are hellish anyway so I’m not sure how much difference the painkillers would actually make…

Today’s run was based on decreasing loops, meaning I had to run past my house not once but twice! I found the best way to deal with the overwhelming urge to go into my house and have a nice lie down as to pretend it wasn’t my house. Weird, but it worked.

The high point of interest of today’s run was after I got back home and forgot to put my fleece (also know as ‘horse blanket’) on. I cooled down too quickly, and coupled with the overdose of sweet sickly sugary jelly beans, I promptly threw up. Then felt brilliant! Not exactly what I was after though as it’ll now take twice as much effort to rehydrate. Oops.

At least in the London Marathon I’m unlikely to get bored. There are costumes to spot (including the rhinos of course), spectators to high five and landmarks to tick off (and the Gherkin to see, again. I still hate it from last time ;)). And there will be people to run with too, of course (in theory 35,000 although of course most of them will be faster than me).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “4 weeks to go and an even longer longest run”

  1. Phil Says:

    Good work Becki!!

    Never thrown up from running myself (yet) so I’m not sure if it’s good or bad – but you seem happy with it, and thats the most important thing!

  2. Darren Awesome Morrissey Says:

    You promised me photos, but there’s not a single one on this post! Pff.

    Incidentally, you’ll find that jammie dodgers are better for you than jelly beans. In a generic sense, I mean!

  3. danworth Says:

    Why do you hate the Gherkin? I hate the food gherkins, but rather like the building.

  4. beckisavestherhinos Says:

    The building is very pretty and I have no problem with it as such, but I saw rather a lot of it on my last London Marathon (which was not good) so associate it with bad things. Hopefully this time I will come to associate it with good things! 🙂

  5. It’s the final countdown… « Becki Saves the Rhinos Says:

    […] running the entire way on my two long runs, I already know I will probably have to walk at least once during the marathon, so I’m not […]

Leave a Reply

