Anyone can do a marathon…

Whether young and fresh-faced or really quite old
If you’re a ‘Fun runner’ or going for gold

On legs numbering two, one, zero or four
With chafeing, rubbing, and nipples so sore

It’s a test of endurance and stamina too
To get to the finish it’s all down to you

Those months of training, pounding the streets
Aching limbs, lost toenails and bruised, er, feets

Pasta at every meal and a love of carb gels
Helping and aiding those poor muscle cells

The big day itself comes round ever so quickly
Stood on the start line you might feel sickly

Soon the gun goes and thousands set off
And you think ‘I’m here’ though many have scoffed

‘Just look at me now, the biggest feat I have done
They didn’t believe me when I said I would run’

The race might be painful and it’s going to be long
But spectators will cheer ‘you can go on!’

You can walk, jog, or run, or a mix of the three
And find yourself wondering ‘was that really me?’

Crossing the line, you’ll forget all the pain
And sign up right there to do it again!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Anyone can do a marathon…”

  1. Neil Says:

    Thanks for this Becki, an excellent rhyme
    I’m sure it’ll inspire us to an excellent time

    People say it looks easy, all fun and frolics
    I just grit my teeth, and tell them that’s … not entirely fair, it’s very hard work and a lot of training you know!

  2. Two weeks to go… « Becki Saves the Rhinos Says:

    […] Becki Saves the Rhinos Saving the rhino by running the London Marathon on 26th April 2009 « Anyone can do a marathon… […]

  3. Ulen Says:

    I like “feets”, so much so that in tribute to it I even used the word in my blog today šŸ™‚

    Great poem Becki, I love it!!

Leave a Reply

