It’s the final countdown…

Duh duh duuuh duh, duh duh duh da-da!
One week to go until the 2009 London Marathon! Hopefully by this time next week I will have finished the 26.2 mile slog and be having a well earned rest. The coming week is going to be busy and scary and I may start to panic about exactly what I’ve let myself in for.

Despite running the entire way on my two long runs, I already know I will probably have to walk at least once during the marathon, so I’m not going to beat myself up about it. Just finishing is impressive in itself! And it would be nice to still be able to walk the next day.

I’m spending most of the weekend in London, heading up on the Friday and coming home on the Monday. I have to go to the Expo on the Saturday to pick up my running number. And of course the marathon’s on the Sunday. My Friday is slightly complicated by the fact I have a three hour Classical Greek exam – great timing, not! I’ve only got a couple of short runs to do this week so my evenings are slightly freed up for revision but it’s annoying having two nerve-racking things happening on the same weekend!

I’m going to start packing today and have already made a list of things I need to take, of which I guess my running stuff is the most important! If for whatever reason I forget my toothbrush or something like that, I’ll be in the middle London so I think I’d be able to find a new toothbrush. But if I was to forget my trainers (or my rhino hat – or my running number confirmation) they’re not really replaceable…

Running the marathon is going to be very strange, my normal runs are an out-of-body experience so it’ll be even worse at the marathon, as I struggle to comprehend what on Earth I’m doing and that I’m actually doing it. Hopefully there will be a great camaraderie between the rhino runners, as well as all the other runners too. Must remember to smile and wave at the TV cameras!

I’m going to put some little treats (like Lemon Puffs) in my kitbag, which will be waiting for me at the finish line, to spur me on! I’ll also be adding blister plasters and a change of clothes, essential post-race items.

I’ll be heading out for a 5.7 mile run in a bit, I haven’t done that route since February so it will be interesting to see if and how I’ve improved my time…

Apologies for the babbling rambling post – need to get my head straight before next week!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

